KlalChat

GroupMe alternatives

Best GroupMe SMS Alternatives for Regular Texting: Group Chats That Run on Plain Texts

Four people around a table, one pointing at the flip phone in an older man's hand as they work through a group message.

The best alternative to GroupMe for regular texting is a group text relay, sometimes called a group SMS relay. The group gets its own number, and each member's text to it reaches everyone else as an ordinary text with the sender's name in front. Nobody needs an app or a smartphone. Klal Chat, Connext, GroupUs, GoText, TelTech SMS, Evant, YidText and WagonRing all work this way as of September 2026; they differ in who can reply, what the organizer needs, and how the bill works. Klal Chat, which publishes this guide, is built for groups where some members carry kosher or basic phones, with one flat monthly price that includes the number and every text. Broadcast tools such as Textedly, SimpleTexting and EZ Texting text each person separately and send replies to the sender only.

Is GroupMe shutting down, or just its SMS mode?

GroupMe is not shutting down. What is ending is its text-message mode, the option to take part by plain text with no app. GroupMe announced the change on August 17, 2026, and it rolls out per person. The next group text you receive carries a notice and starts a seven-day countdown; after that, group messages stop arriving by text for you.

Quiet groups keep texting until somebody posts, so one neighbor is cut off while another still gets messages. Groups, history and members are kept, and sign-in codes and invitations by phone number still arrive by text.

The app and groupme.com in a browser continue. That suits members with a smartphone and does nothing for the parent with a flip phone, the teenager on a basic phone or the grandfather on a kosher phone. A petition on Change.org asking GroupMe to keep text messaging drew several thousand signatures. It names people on basic phones, children whose parents limit them to basic phones, the elderly and people without reliable internet, and says signers would accept a nominal fee. Their groups have to move somewhere that delivers ordinary texts.

What does an alternative to GroupMe for regular texting need to do?

It needs to keep the conversation inside the text messages already on every phone. Three kinds of product get called group texting, and only the first does that.

A group text relay gives the group its own number. A member texts it, everyone else receives the message as an ordinary text with the sender's name in front, and a reply goes to the whole group. It has a member list, an admin, and usually an announcement-only switch. Klal Chat, Connext, GroupUs, GoText, TelTech SMS, Evant and YidText advertise this.

A broadcast tool sends one message to a list as separate one-to-one texts. Each person gets an individual message, and replies go to the sender's inbox only. Textedly, SimpleTexting and EZ Texting describe themselves this way.

A phone's own group thread costs nothing, but it shows every number to every member and has no admin. A report posted on JTech Forums in August 2026 puts its practical ceiling at around ten to twenty members; limits vary by handset and carrier.

Five traps show up in most lists of alternatives, and some entries below fall into them. Read each one with the traps in mind:

  • A broadcast tool presented as group chat: each person gets a separate text, and replies reach only the sender.
  • A price per message that hides the group: a message to 40 people is 40 deliveries, not one, on every service. The question is whether the price list says so before you sign up.
  • Free that means an app: GroupMe's app, WhatsApp and Signal reach no phone that can only text.
  • No app for members, but a browser for the organizer: nearly every service here is set up and billed on a website.
  • Phones that cannot receive texts at all: a talk-only kosher phone cannot join any of these, so test on the simplest handset in the group before you move.

Can everyone reply to everyone, or only to the admin?

"Two-way" can mean either, so ask. In an open group, any member's text reaches every other member. In announcement-only mode, only admins post, and a member's reply goes to the admin alone or is turned away. Most relay services let the admin choose per group.

The right setting differs. A school parents' list or a camp may want announcements only, while a family, a team, a homeschool co-op or a chabura usually wants the conversation.

How do the GroupMe SMS alternatives compare?

What each service advertises, as of September 2026. GroupMe, WhatsApp and every service named here are separate companies with no connection to Klal Chat. Where a row names no country, the service does not say where it works.

How do the GroupMe SMS alternatives compare?
OptionHow members take partReplies reach everyone?What the organizer needsPricing model and status
Klal ChatOrdinary texts; US and Canada; up to 120 membersYes, or announcement-onlyA browser; add or remove people by textFlat monthly plan, number and every text included, no overage; live
ConnextOrdinary texts, or its free appYes, or announcement modeWeb or app dashboard; text commandsPer segment per recipient with a monthly minimum; live
GroupUsOrdinary texts; reply JOINYes, or broadcastText commandsMonthly fee per group plus per delivered copy; live
GoTextOrdinary texts; kosher phones namedYes, or admin-onlyWeb dashboard; member commands by textPer text per recipient; wallet, monthly or weekly plan; live
TelTech SMSOrdinary texts; US numbers onlyYes, or replies to admin onlyWeb dashboard; Hebrew and YiddishMonthly allowance that expires, or pay-as-you-go plus a number fee; live
EvantOrdinary texts; kosher phones namedAdmin choosesWeb dashboard; carrier registration firstMonthly fee by audience size plus per text; group pricing on request; live
YidTextOrdinary texts; reply STAYYes, or announcementsWeb dashboardMonthly credit bundles; incoming and outgoing both count
WagonRingOrdinary texts; members' numbers hiddenYesWeb browserMonthly subscription with a message allowance; sign-ups paused, waitlist or quote request
SMS Group TextNot statedNot statedNot statedFlat annual license; invite-only waitlist
Phone's own group textMessages appGroup MMS yes; plain group text noNothing; cannot remove a memberCarrier charges only
GroupMe app or webApp or browser onlyYesA GroupMe accountFree; text-message mode being retired
Textedly, SimpleTexting, EZ TextingIndividual texts to a listNo; replies to sender's inboxWeb account; SimpleTexting and EZ Texting state US and CanadaMonthly credits, one per recipient per text; live

1. Klal Chat: best for a group with kosher or flip phones that wants one flat monthly bill

Klal Chat was built for the group GroupMe's text mode left behind: the shul list, the school parents, the kollel, the family. Some people there carry a flip phone or a kosher phone, and everyone still has to be in one conversation. Klal Chat is our service. What sets it apart from most of the entries below is the bill: one plan a month, with the group's number, its carrier registration and every text inside it, and nothing billed that the admin did not choose.

Each group gets its own dedicated number. A member texts it, and everyone else receives the message as an ordinary text with the sender's name in front, such as "Moshe: Mincha at 7:15". A reply reaches the whole group. A group can be open, or announcement-only so that only admins post, and the admin can switch at any time.

  • Every phone in the conversation: members need a phone that sends and receives ordinary texts on a US or Canadian number, and nothing else. No app, no account, no internet, and nothing to pay beyond the texts on their own plan. They join by replying YES to one invitation, by texting JOIN and the group's code to the number, or through the form at klalchat.com/join, and they leave with #exit or STOP.
  • Names, not numbers: messages carry the sender's name, and nobody's full phone number is handed round the group. When someone joins on their own or changes their name, the group is told with only the last four digits.
  • One bill, known in advance: the pricing page turns your group size and pace into a plan before you pay, there is no overage and no per-person fee, and a chip-in link lets members pay part of the bill by card if the group wants to share it.
  • Run from a web page, or by text: the plan, the card, the member list, the delivery log and the count of texts left live on the admin website, so the person paying needs a browser. Adding and removing people also works by text with #add and #remove, and a group can have as many admins as it likes.
  • Nothing kept: Klal Chat does not keep the text of messages. The delivery log lists each message by who sent it, when, how many people it reached and whether each copy arrived, never by what it said.
  • Limits: text only, no photos or polls, and up to 120 members. As on every text service, a post longer than one text is two texts per person, and a text holds fewer Hebrew or Yiddish characters than English. A group that uses up its month pauses until the plan refills or the admin adds texts. Muted members receive nothing and cost nothing.
  • Status: live and taking new groups. Every group starts with a free trial; checkout asks for a card and shows the trial length and the first charge date.

2. Connext: best for a group split between its app and plain texts

Connext fits a group where some members will use its free app and the rest need ordinary texts, with an organizer who can live with a per-recipient bill. It is one dedicated number for texts, calls, voicemail and email, run from a web or app dashboard. Its August 19 post positions it as the way GroupMe used to work: app members, with text fallback for everyone else.

  • Replies: open two-way chat or announcement mode, with an admin-set daily cap.
  • Members need: its free app, where sending costs nothing, or a phone that texts; anyone not on the app gets ordinary texts.
  • Organizer: a web or app dashboard; an admin can also send messages and update contact lists by text command from a basic phone.
  • Bill: per message segment per recipient, with a monthly minimum. The advertised low rate applies only past a monthly volume; below it, a group pays the higher rate, and the minimum applies either way. The multiplication by recipients shows in its calculator, not on the price card.

3. GroupUs: best for creating and running a group by text command

GroupUs fits an organizer who wants to create and run a group by text command. An organizer texts CREATE plus a group name to its number and each group gets its own number. Members reply JOIN once, and texting that number then reaches everyone.

  • Replies: a member's text to the group number reaches everyone; a broadcast setting is available.
  • Members need: a phone that texts, and one JOIN reply.
  • Organizer: text commands; payment by phone is planned.
  • Bill: a flat monthly fee per group plus a charge per delivered copy, paid by the owner. The per-copy rate multiplies by member count.
  • Status: live as of September 2026.

4. GoText: best for member text commands and a choice of billing styles

GoText fits a group whose members want to manage themselves by text command, with an organizer who wants a choice of wallet, monthly or weekly billing. Each group runs on its own number, and a member's text is relayed to everyone else with the sender's name in front.

  • Replies: each group is set to open posting or admin-only.
  • Members need: a phone that texts; the site names flip phones and kosher phones, with no app, account or internet.
  • Organizer: a web dashboard; members can text commands such as #add, #mute and #list to the group number.
  • Bill: per text segment per recipient. Pay through a prepaid wallet with lower rates at larger top-ups plus a monthly number charge, a fixed monthly plan, or a weekly plan with a daily cap.
  • Watch for: photos count as several messages. The site says group-chat-only accounts skip business carrier registration.

5. TelTech SMS: best for a Hebrew or Yiddish dashboard

TelTech SMS fits a group whose organizer wants the dashboard in Hebrew or Yiddish and whose members all have United States numbers. It runs from a web dashboard with a shared inbox.

  • Replies: Everyone mode, where any member's text reaches all members, or Admins-only mode, where a member's reply reaches the admin alone.
  • Members need: a United States number that texts; nothing to install. Pictures and voice notes are supported.
  • Organizer: a web dashboard with a shared inbox, in English, Hebrew or Yiddish.
  • Bill: a monthly allowance that expires at month end, or pay-as-you-go plus a monthly number charge.
  • Watch for: a post counts once per recipient, so read an allowance as copies. Its terms limit service to United States numbers.

6. Evant: best for adding voice calls and email to group texts

Evant fits an organization that wants voice calls, email and mass texting from the same dashboard as its group chat, and that can wait for carrier registration. It sells group messaging, mass texting, voice calls and email from one web dashboard. Its September 1 post addresses schools, shuls and neighborhood groups.

  • Replies: the admin decides whether replies go to the whole group or only to the admin.
  • Members need: no app, internet or smartphone; the site names basic and kosher phones.
  • Organizer: one web dashboard for everything.
  • Bill: a monthly platform fee plus a charge per text, in tiers by audience size, with a registration fee after an initial period. Whether a post is billed once per recipient is not stated; the group-messaging page says to ask about special pricing.
  • Watch for: carrier registration must finish before sending, and no duration is published.

7. What about YidText, WagonRing and SMS Group Text?

YidText fits former GroupMe text users on kosher and basic phones whose owner wants to buy credits by the bundle. It is a paid group text service with a dedicated number, open conversation and announcements. Members reply STAY to keep receiving messages, and the owner runs it from a web dashboard.

Pricing is monthly credit bundles capped by number of groups. Every incoming and outgoing text segment uses a credit, failed deliveries still count, and sending pauses at zero unless auto-upgrade is on.

Two more are not taking ordinary sign-ups today. WagonRing advertises a text group chat with no app, members' numbers hidden, join and mute by text, photos, and a shared call-in number. Sign-ups are paused; the site offers a waitlist, and a quote request for larger groups. Its monthly subscription includes an allowance of "typed messages" that the site never defines as a post or a delivered copy.

SMS Group Text (sms-group-text.com) is invite-only, onboarding groups one at a time from a waitlist, and priced as a flat annual license. It does not say whether replies reach the whole group or what members need.

Can a flip phone stay in the group without the app, on group MMS, GroupMe web or WhatsApp?

Only for some groups. A phone's own group message costs nothing, but in a group SMS every response goes out as an individual text the others cannot see. A group MMS, which needs MMS Messaging turned on in Settings, shows everyone's responses, and nobody can remove anyone from either kind. Everyone has everyone else's number, and nobody is the admin. Fine for a carpool; not for a shul list or a school.

The GroupMe app and website continue and cost nothing, so an all-smartphone group can stay put. WhatsApp runs only on current Android and iPhone software, has ended support on KaiOS flip phones, and needs an internet connection. Signal cannot send or receive text messages. Remind Chat, the free tier schools often reach for, now delivers texts only for verified members of verified US K-12 schools.

Broadcast tools are built for announcements, not for a conversation. Textedly says replies land in the account's inbox as a one-on-one conversation. SimpleTexting calls its sends BCC-style, and EZ Texting says each person gets an individual text and replies come back to the account. All three bill per recipient. They fit a group that only ever needs announcements, and most relay services offer the same effect as an announcement-only setting.

Is there a free alternative to GroupMe for regular texting?

As of September 2026 no free, text-based group chat service is up and running. GroupItUp, which advertised free group texting for flip phones, never launched. Its notice points to an unnamed successor described as TAG approved and free; forum posts describe that as a data app for kosher phones, not a text service, and disagree about whether it is free.

The reason is structural: carriers charge for every copy delivered, so one post to 60 people is about 60 paid texts. Anything free is paid for by an app, by ads, or by someone else's money. The free options that do exist, GroupMe's app and website, WhatsApp and Signal, need a smartphone or a computer and an internet connection.

What does a GroupMe SMS alternative cost a group each month?

It depends on how much the group talks. A post is delivered once to every member on every service, so a price per message is a price per copy: a post to 40 people is about 40 deliveries, and five posts a day is around 200. Every service delivers the same copies; they differ in how they bill for them.

Price lists come in three shapes: a price per message, often with a monthly minimum or a fee for the number on top; prepaid credits or an allowance that expires; and a flat monthly plan with the number included. Per message means per person each post reaches, so ask what else is counted and what the number itself costs.

Which shape suits the group depends on how it talks. A quiet announcement list can cost less on a per-message service. A busy family, team or shul group, where replies are most of the traffic, gets a bill it knows in advance on a flat monthly plan. Compare a month against a month, and make it a busy one. Count the number fee, any minimum, any registration fee, expiring credits and the charge for pictures or long messages.

Klal Chat sells the month, not the message: one flat plan per group, the number and its carrier registration inside it, every text counted in the open, and nothing billed past what the admin chose. Put a busy month on a per-message service beside the plan the pricing page gives you for the same group, and choose on the whole bill.

What are community groups choosing after the announcement?

Organizers comparing notes on Imamother in late August 2026 wanted different things. One ran a support group where most members relied on texts. One needed a late camp-pickup notice to reach parents by text. Several ran announcement lists and wanted the organizer's own number kept out of it. One had priced a service on her own posts alone, and had to redo the estimate once someone pointed out that every post is one text per recipient.

Their worries were just as practical: routing everything through one administrator kills the conversation, the cost adds up across a family's school and neighborhood groups, and smartphone members may not want to chip in. Put the same questions to your own group: which phones must take part, who needs to reply, who runs it, who pays, and when it has to be working.

How do you move a GroupMe group to a text alternative?

With one clear message, once the new group is tested. Moving is list work; the full checklist is in the migration guide.

  1. List every member with a name, a confirmed number and whether that phone can send and receive an ordinary text.
  2. Set up the new group, choose open or announcement-only, and name the payer and a monthly budget that counts replies.
  3. Test with two or three volunteers, including the simplest phone on the list, and confirm each one received a message and could reply.
  4. Send one announcement through a channel the text-only members still receive. Give the new number, the join step, the changeover date and a person to contact, written out in full for anyone who cannot open a link.
  5. Keep the old group open until the first real update lands in the new one, then confirm the people who depend on texts received it.

Questions about this guide

Is there a better alternative to GroupMe?

For a group where some members need plain text messages, yes. A group text relay such as Klal Chat, Connext, GroupUs, GoText, TelTech SMS, Evant or YidText gives the group its own number and sends every member's text to everyone else. Klal Chat, which publishes this guide, does it with one flat monthly price and keeps no message text.

Do members need a smartphone or an app?

Not with a group text relay. Members text the group's number from whatever phone they have, and replies arrive as ordinary texts. The organizer usually needs a website for the plan, the card and the member list.

Why do people use GroupMe instead of text?

Because GroupMe put smartphone users and text-only users in one group: app members got a feed with photos and polls, and members on basic phones took part by ordinary text. Retiring text mode in August 2026 removes that bridge.

Can you still get GroupMe texts without the app?

Only until your countdown ends. GroupMe says the next group text you receive starts a seven-day countdown; after that, group messages arrive only in the app or at groupme.com, and the only texts GroupMe still sends are sign-in codes and invitations by phone number.

What is the best free alternative to GroupMe for regular texting?

None, as of September 2026. GroupItUp stood down before launching, and every live text-based service on the community's list is paid, because carriers charge for each copy delivered.

Is there a group text app that sends individually, without reply all?

Yes: Textedly, SimpleTexting and EZ Texting each text every person individually and send replies only to the sender's inbox. That is a broadcast, not a group conversation; most relay services offer the same effect as an announcement-only mode.

GroupMe vs WhatsApp: which works for a group with basic phones?

Neither, now. WhatsApp needs a recent Android or iOS phone plus an internet connection, and GroupMe is retiring text participation. A group with one member on a basic or kosher phone needs a service that delivers ordinary texts.

What is the best app for group text messaging, or one similar to GroupMe?

If everyone has a smartphone, GroupMe's own app continues, and WhatsApp and Signal are the usual choices. If anyone is on a basic or kosher phone, the answer is not an app. A group text relay such as Klal Chat, Connext, GroupUs, GoText, TelTech SMS or Evant gives the group a number that members text from their phone's own messaging app, and the table above compares them.

Sources and further reading

External product details were checked for this review. This guide is written by Klal Chat; GroupMe and WhatsApp are separate services, with no affiliation or endorsement implied.

Bring your group's needs to us

Tell us about your members' phones and how your group talks. We can help you plan the switch.